Belvedere – My Illustrated Children’s Book

A month ago I was rambling and raving about how much hard work it was to plot, illustrate, write and publish my children’s book for uni. Back then I wondered how I would ever get it finished in time, and I was convinced I’d either end up submitting something rushed and dodgy just to avoid a late penalty, or I’d still be working on it a month after the deadline because my inner perfectionist couldn’t leave well-enough alone (I’ve been guilty of both of these extremes in the past). As it turned out, I was given an extension because of serious illness (which may seem like a big help, but painting and drawing when you constantly feel like you want to pass out or be sick is no fun no matter how much time you’ve been given to do it), so I was still working on it up until last week.

I am happy to say that, last Thursday night, I finally finished and uploaded my book! Bask in its cute, dragon-y glory:

Blurb from back cover: Belvedere isn’t like the other dragons. After being shunned by his own kind, he leaves the forest and goes on a journey to find new places and meet new friends. In doing so, he discovers that being different isn’t always a bad thing.

I am really quite proud of what I have created. And even though while I was doing it, I was constantly whining about how time-consuming and difficult it was, I really enjoyed the process of painting the backgrounds and creating the environments out of various cut-up materials. I loved drawing the characters and using scanned and digital textures to bring them and their story to life. In a fit of exhaustion after uploading my book for print, I declared that I would never again commit myself to such a feat as creating an illustrated children’s book from scratch… But one day, just maybe, I will 🙂 The feeling of actually completing a creative work of this scale (this is from someone who has at least five unfinished novels languishing on her hard drive) is like winning the lotto, and it’s motivated me to try harder to complete one of my larger writing projects.

Belvedere is available for a 15-page preview (or purchase in hardcover, paperback or eBook format) here.

UPDATE 8th Nov: My hardcover copy arrived in the mail today! Yay! It looks even better than I thought it would:

Rex may not be excited about it, but I certainly am 😀

About Rebecca J Fleming

Some random geek on the Internet who likes playing with coloured things. Also, I like to put Easter eggs in the microwave.
This entry was posted in Academic, Children's, Fiction, Graphics, Illustration, Publishing, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Belvedere – My Illustrated Children’s Book

  1. Kaitlin says:

    Oh wow! I checked out the preview, it’s beautiful! I love the art style.

  2. Your book is ADORABLE! I have an art background, and I can’t imagine how much work it would be to both write and illustrate. If I had little kids, I’d totally buy this. Good luck with sales!

  3. Congrats! Belvedere looks adorable! I am very impressed….

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. spaciireth says:

    Eee! That is so cool! I love him and his cute dragon-y glory. Congrats! 😀

Leave a Reply

